Oddisi Dance Costume

Sort by:
Odissi Full set jewellery | Dance Jewellery

Odissi Full set jewellery | Dance Jewellery

Rs. 6,755.00
Complete set of Odissi dance jewellery Odissi jewellery set Consist of  1. Headset 2. Short chain 3. Long chain 4. Bangles 5. Vanki 6. Stud, Jummiki and Matal 7. Chutti 8....
Odissi | Odissi Dance Costume |

Odissi | Odissi Dance Costume |

Rs. 13,800.00
Introducing Odissi, a mesmerizing classical dance form that embodies grace, spirituality, and timeless beauty. Rooted in Hindu texts and traditions, this team dance has captivated audiences for centuries with its...
The Odissi Dance Costume is a traditional attire worn by performers of the Odissi dance form, which originated in the state of Odisha, India. This costume is a vital part of the dance, reflecting its rich cultural heritage. The Odissi Dance Costume includes a vibrant and intricately designed ensemble comprising of a saree-like garment known as a Sari or Pattachitra, adorned with unique motifs and patterns. The costume also features delicate jewelry, such as necklaces, bangles, and anklets, enhancing the gracefulness of the dancer's movements. The Odissi Dance Costume represents the grace, elegance, and storytelling abilities of this classical dance form, making it a visually captivating art form.

Frequently Asked Questions

The traditional dress for Bharatanatyam is called a "Bharatanatyam costume" or simply a "dance costume."

Yes, Bharatanatyam is a traditional Indian classical dance form that originated in the temples of Tamil Nadu.

Bharatanatyam costumes are typically made with silk sarees, specifically Kanchipuram silk sarees, known for their rich texture and vibrant colors.

To measure for a Bharatanatyam costume, one needs to measure the length from the waist to the ankle, hip circumference, chest circumference, and shoulder width for a proper fit.

The four styles of Bharatanatyam are Vazhuvoor, Pandanallur, Thanjavur, and Kalakshetra.

The seven elements of Bharatanatyam are Nritta (pure dance), Nritya (expressive dance), Natya (dramatic element), Vachika (speech), Aharya (costume and ornaments), Satvika (emotional connect), and Angika (body movements).

There is no definitive "best" style of Bharatanatyam; it depends on personal preference and the dancer's training. Each style has its unique characteristics and beauty.

The three 'N's of Bharatanatyam are Natya (dramatic expression), Nritya (rhythmic movement), and Nritta (pure dance movements).

The nine emotions portrayed in Bharatanatyam are love, laughter, fury, compassion, disgust, wonder, courage, fear, and peace.

In Bharatanatyam, the five fingers are called Tarjani (index finger), Madhyama (middle finger), Anamika (ring finger), Kanishthika (little finger), and Angushtha (thumb).

Bharatanatyam comprises a vast array of poses, but there isn't a fixed number. Dancers learn numerous unique postures, each with specific meanings and expressions.

Bharatanatyam Related Articles & News