Mohiniattam costume

Sort by:
Mohiniattam | Dance Costume | Kerala Costume

Mohiniattam | Dance Costume | Kerala Costume

Rs. 9,500.00Rs. 21,000.00
Introducing our exquisite Mohiniattam Costume, a traditional dance attire that originates from the vibrant state of Kerala, South India. Immerse yourself in the grace and elegance of this Indian classical...
The term 'Mohiniattam costume' refers to the attire worn by dancers performing the classical Indian dance form called Mohiniattam. Mohiniattam costume typically consists of a set of garments that includes a traditional off-white or cream-colored sari with gold borders, adorned with beautiful motifs. These motifs often depict elements inspired by nature, such as flowers, leaves, and peacocks. The costume also includes an intricately designed blouse, known as a choli, which complements the sari. Dancers further enhance their appearance by wearing complimentary jewelry, such as necklaces, earrings, waistbands, and anklets. The Mohiniattam costume is an essential component of the dance form, with its elegant and captivating aesthetics adding grace to the performances.

Frequently Asked Questions

The traditional dress for Bharatanatyam is called a "Bharatanatyam costume" or simply a "dance costume."

Yes, Bharatanatyam is a traditional Indian classical dance form that originated in the temples of Tamil Nadu.

Bharatanatyam costumes are typically made with silk sarees, specifically Kanchipuram silk sarees, known for their rich texture and vibrant colors.

To measure for a Bharatanatyam costume, one needs to measure the length from the waist to the ankle, hip circumference, chest circumference, and shoulder width for a proper fit.

The four styles of Bharatanatyam are Vazhuvoor, Pandanallur, Thanjavur, and Kalakshetra.

The seven elements of Bharatanatyam are Nritta (pure dance), Nritya (expressive dance), Natya (dramatic element), Vachika (speech), Aharya (costume and ornaments), Satvika (emotional connect), and Angika (body movements).

There is no definitive "best" style of Bharatanatyam; it depends on personal preference and the dancer's training. Each style has its unique characteristics and beauty.

The three 'N's of Bharatanatyam are Natya (dramatic expression), Nritya (rhythmic movement), and Nritta (pure dance movements).

The nine emotions portrayed in Bharatanatyam are love, laughter, fury, compassion, disgust, wonder, courage, fear, and peace.

In Bharatanatyam, the five fingers are called Tarjani (index finger), Madhyama (middle finger), Anamika (ring finger), Kanishthika (little finger), and Angushtha (thumb).

Bharatanatyam comprises a vast array of poses, but there isn't a fixed number. Dancers learn numerous unique postures, each with specific meanings and expressions.

Bharatanatyam Related Articles & News